Visual Key: Mosaic Hawkers

There are 6 species of Mosaic Hawkers in the UK.

One of the more useful distinctions is the pattern on the side of the thorax IF you can see it. [If you can’t see the thorax, try these alternative features.]

I’ve tried to keep similarly marked species together. Some have restricted ranges, notably the Azure Hawker (Aeshna carulea) which is limited to western parts of Scotland. Likewise, the Southern Migrant Hawker/Blue-eyed Hawker (Aeshna affinis) has a stronghold in East Anglia but is spreading whilst the Common Hawker (Aeshna jumcea) famously isn’t, being absent from several parts of the country.

Southern Hawker/Blue Hawker (Aeshna cyanea)

Southern Migrant Hawker/Blue-eyed Hawker (Aeshna affinis)

Migrant Hawker (Aeshna mixta)

Common Hawker/Moorland Hawker (Aeshna juncea)

Hairy Dragonfly/Hairy Hawker (Brachytron pratense)

Azure Hawker (Aeshna caerulea)


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers: